John Gill’s “ANDALUCIA” – A cultural history

December 13, 2008

This is a book written by a professional-journalist-become-historian, the reading of which I strongly recommend. I have been all my life a fan of history but unfortunately my school time was full with the history written by the Spanish historians belonging to the dictatorial regime. It is funny that the best writers dealing with Spain be of British nationality, John Gill is by his own right a perfect specimen of those authors. He has taught me aspects of the History of Spain which I was not conversant with and I must credit him with something difficult to find in a historian: accuracy.

Gill has lived in Andalucia for many years during which time he studied in depth what he later converted to written history, a book which is, in my opinion, a must in all libraries because it gives us indices on the beginnings of the human life in Europe and which, if perused carefully, answers to so many outstanding questions regarding the development of the human species.

http://johngillwrites.com/index.html is his website where he may be reached.

He has recently moved to a paradise island in Greece where I am sure he will continue to be the source of more enlightenment for his readers.

Andalucia – A Cultural History is available through Signal Books Limited, 36 Minster Road. Oxford OX4 ILY, or

http://signalbooks.co.uk

8 Responses to “John Gill’s “ANDALUCIA” – A cultural history”

  1. Jose said

    Thank you, Merkin. Good to be into touch.

  2. I read the stuff that AntiCant sent me of John’s work.
    He is a lovely writer and well researched and applied.

    Another recommended book is that by Craig Murray former Ambassador.
    Soon to be published, he has sent us a copy.
    Shocking stuff.
    Well worth a look.

    http://tinyurl.com/6xysvt

    I am Spartacus.

  3. Jose said

    Thank you, Merkin, I will try and find it. Looks very, very interesting.

  4. It will now be published online – I will give you a link after 12th january.

  5. seachanges said

    Jose: so nice to see you again! Have missed you around and glad you are back in blogging land. A very happy new year to you.

  6. Jose said

    And the best of it to you, Seachanges.

    Yes, I’ve been on and off for a time, not feeling well, but now I think I can stand on my feet without doddering. LOL. I am exaggerating of course.

    I’ll be visiting your wonderful place more often.

Leave a Reply

