A tiny problem

March 31, 2007

Tomorrow a Sunday of all days, the Power Plant  – by the way owned by Endesa – will cut supply from 08 to 13 hours (GMT + 1), due to technical reasons. Return to normality will be after 13 hours or before if anything goes alright for the corporation.

10 Responses to “A tiny problem”

  1. Richard said

    “Technical reasons” can cover a multitude of sins…

  2. Jose said

    Indeed it can, Richard. More than you think.

  3. Indeed Richard. Hope you survive the black out Jose.
    I don’t know if you guys heard about this or remember, but back in the summer of 2002 or 2003, can’t remember exactly, most of the North Eastern U.S. and most of Ontario and Quebec suddenly and without warning went ‘black’ for a bit over 24 hours. Everyone first suspected a terrorist act of course, but it turned out to be some major over load somewhere in Ohio that sent a series of shorts “down the line”. (Or at least that’s what /we/ were told). Anyway, that first night was incredible. The sky was so clear. And for the first time you could see the Milky Way in metro-Toronto.
    The cultural atmosphere was amazing. Everyone was out on the streets partying through the night. No work in the morning of course. People camped out on the sidewalks and stairs of their houses and buildings all night. Hardly any traffic anywhere, no street lights, just people out walking around with flashlights and radios. You could see candles twinkling in windows all across the cities. Random strangers stopped and talked with each other. It was a communal experience that cut across international borders for miles and miles. It was a very special and beautiful time.
    I’d imagine this novel experience and the kind interactions would have quickly worn off if the power had stayed out another night or two. Before too long the looting and rioting would have commenced and the dark side of humanity would quickly have replaced the peaceful intentions of most folks. It was an interesting cultural experiment to say the least.
    Often times in the summers here in North America rolling black outs occur when energy usage is at its peak. It doesn’t happen often, and when it does people just flip. If I knew when they were being planned, if there were a schedule, I don’t think I’d mind all that much. It is an inconvenience, but it has a way of bringing us humans back in line with ourselves and nature somehow.
    Have fun in the dark Jose. Maybe a good game of charades could be had?
    Best,
    Ranger

  4. boldscot said

    Even with an abacus and a pair of semaphore flags you will make a lot more sense than most, Jose.

  5. Jose said

    I understand that, 1loneranger. Something that takes people from routine is always welcome, and what you say brings to my mind those times long ago when people couldn’t enjoy but the light of the sun, there were no lifts, and the joys of our time hadn’t yet spoiled mind and body.

    Your kind words, Boldscot, encourage me. Thank you.

  6. seachanges said

    Well, agree totally: my server at work was out today and it was sheer bliss as I did not feel the need to look at e-mails or anything else. I decided to simply enjoyed a carefree weekend, a first sunny day in the garden and enjoying the Sundy papers, as well as doing a bit of blogging. Great day! First weekend since May last year that I have not done a stroke of ‘work’ (that is ‘work’ in the sense of earning a living…).

  7. Jose said

    The problem, seachanges, is that telephones are not cut. They work better than power, but when you re left alone, without telephones for a short time, that’s really bliss. Hearing the ring continuously was something that in my working days kept me on tenterhooks.

    One of the perks of my retirement. LOL.

  8. seachanges said

    Envy you there Jose – retirement sounds real bliss. Nowadays it’s the e-mails that keep you on tenterhooks: people assume that when they’ve shot one off at you the ball is in your court and they have done their work! I have switched off my work laptop and left a message saying that I am unavailable over the Easter weekend – time to spend with family, in the garden and with books.

  9. Jose said

    Yes, seachanges, enjoy your family to the utmost. They are always worthwhile.

    As to my retirement I use to say that I work now more than before, which is really a lot because in my working days it was really exhausting.

    I do not, I cannot, stop doing always something. An old routine I haven’t sent to the waste bin. Keeps me kicking about. LOL

  10. Jose said

    Tomorrow, again a Sunday, black out again from 8.30 am to 1.3 pm.

    Patience is the word.

Leave a Reply

